2007 CSS Fellows (Excerpt)

lection to the grade of IEEE Fel-Iow acknowledges outstanding contributions and exceptional professional distinction. We are pleased to present the IEEE Control Systems Society members who have been accorded this honor for 2007.

Ratnesh Kumar Iowa State University



For contributions to discrete event system modeling, control, diagnosis, and applications.

Ratnesh Kumar received a B.Tech. de-

gree from the IIT Kanpur, in 1987, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Texas at Austin, Texas, in 1989 and 1991, respectively. He has previously been on the faculty of the University of Kentucky and has held visiting positions at the University of Maryland, Pennsylvania State University, the NASA Ames Research Center, and the Idaho National Labelectrical and computer engineering at the Iowa State University.

His research focuses on event-driven and real-time system and sensor networks. He is a coauthor of Modeling and Control of Logical Discrete Event Systems. He is an associate editor of SIAM Journal on Control and Optimization, Journal of Discrete Event Dynamical Systems, IEEE Control Systems Society, and is a past associate editor of IEEE Transactions on Robotics and Automation. He is a cochair for the 2008 International Workshop on Discrete Event Systems.

oratory. He is currently a professor of **20** IEEE CONTROL SYSTEMS MAGAZINE » JUNE 2007

2007 IEEE CSS Awards Ceremony (Excerpt)

(CDC) was held Wednesday through Friday, D ber 12-14, 2007 at the New Orleans Hilton Riverside, Louisiana.

he 46th IEEE Conference on Decision and Control he 2007 IEEE CSS Awards Ceremony was held in the Grand Ballroom of the Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel, Louisiana, on Thursday, December 13. CSS President Ted Djaferis welcomed the attendees and introduced Panos Antsaklis, chair of the Standing Committee on Awards, who described the IEEE and CSS awards and thanked the CSS awards subcommittee chairs for their hard work.



IEEE CSS 2007 Fellows. From left: Xiaohong Guan, Lihua Xie, Toshiharu Sugie, Claude H. Moog, Zongli Lin, Naomi Ehrich Leonard, Ratnesh Kumar. Mustafa Khammash. and Ben M. Chen. JUNE 2008 « IEEE CONTROL SYSTEMS MAGAZINE 99

2007, while William A. Gruver, IEEE Division X director, presented the awards. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in the profession and is conferred only by invitation of the IEEE Board of Directors on a person with an extraordinary record of accomplishment

Ted Djaferis announced the CSS IEEE Fellows for in any of the IEEE fields of interest. The accomplishments honored by the grade of Fellow contribute significantly to the advancement of engineering science and technology. The following individuals were elected fellows as evaluated by the Control Systems Society: Ari Arapostathis, Richard D. Braatz, Ben M. Chen, Jie Chen, Davor Hrovat, Mustafa Khammash, Ratnesh Kumar, Naomi E. Leonard, Zongli Lin, Claude H. Moog, Li Qiu, Mario A. Rotea, Toshiharu Sugie, Gang Tao, Bo Wahlberg, and Lihua Xie.